Home ::  Spotlight


Displaying 1 to 5 Spotlight (of 21) Page 1 of 5
Guru Maya Rao passes away
Guru Maya Rao passes away Maya Rao, veteran Kathak exponent, famous choreographer and founder-director of the Natya Institute of Kathak and Choreography, passed away on 31 August 2014 in Bangalore. She was 86. She is survived by her daughter Madhu Nataraj, also a well-known Kathak dancer and choreographer. Her family, fans and and thousands of her students all over the world mourn her loss.
Date : 05-09-2014
Stamps on Classical Musicians
Stamps on Classical Musicians The President of India Pranab Mukharjee released a set of eight stamps brought out by the Department of Posts, honouring Pandit Ravi Shankar, Pandit Bhimsen Joshi, D K Pattammal, Pandit Mallikarjun Mansur, Gangubai Hangal, Pandit Kumar Gandharva, Ustad Vilayat Khan and Ustad Ali Akbar Khan, on 3rd Sept 2014.
Date : 05-09-2014
The Cosmic Dance of Shiva
The Cosmic Dance of Shiva Savnubhava 2014 was held on August 6, 7 and 8, hosted at the Rukmini Arangam, Kalakshetra, Chennai.

The three days of the festival, showcased a Tamil play; a piano recital by Anil Srinivasan; a Carnatic concert by Pantula Rama; a contemporary dance production by Samudra titled, ‘The Cosmic Dance of Shiva; an Odissi performance by Sujata Mohapatra; Nangiyar Koothu by Shalini Vijayan; Enchanting Baul music by Parvathy Baul; mridangam solos by Sumathi Rammohan Rao and Umayalpuram K. Sivaraman; and a Harikatha based on the Prahalada legend by Kalyanapuram Aravamudachariar
Date : 01-09-2014
Tamil Nadu Eyal Isai Nataka Mandram
Tamil Nadu Eyal Isai Nataka Mandram Film music director Deva has been reappointed as chairman of the Tamil Nadu Eyal Isai Nataka Mandram.

Mr. Deva was appointed in 2011 and will hold the post for three more years.

Bharatanatyam artist Chitra Visweswaran has been made member-secretary of the Eyal Isai Nataka Mandram. She replaces Sachu.

Source: order issued by the Tourism, Culture and Hindu Religious Charitable Endowments Department.
Date : 01-09-2014
Gokulashtami Sangeetha Uthsavam
Gokulashtami Sangeetha Uthsavam On the inaugural day of the Gokulashtami Sangeetha Uthsavam with the Choodamani Awardees:
Sri Aravind Sitaraman, President, Cisco Inclusive Growth inaugurates the 59th Gokulashtami Sangeetha Utsavam and confered the title 'Diamond Jubilee Sangeetha Choodamani' award on Jayanthi Kumaresh, 'Sangeetha Choodamani' award for Mannargudi Easwaran and 'Aacharya Choodamani' award on Rajkumar Bharathi. Dr.Nalli Kuppuswami Chetti, President, SKGS, Smt.Aruna Sairam, Y.Prabhu,General Secy., SKGS and R.Venkateswaran look on.
Date : 01-09-2014
Displaying 1 to 5 Spotlight (of 21) sruti_content4 Page 1 of 5

IPAD and IPHONE Application Android Application


Thejus Advt
Tyagaraja Advt